Ripun Bora assails BJP for ‘communal’ politics in Assam

Rajya Sabha MP and Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora paid a visit to Donkamokam in West Karbi Anglong district on Thursday and was warmly welcomed by several hundred Congress activists.

Addressing a huge gathering, APCC president Ripun Bora criticized former MLA Dr Mansing Rongpi saying that he did not have Karbi blood. “Karbi and other Hills tribes are simple, innocent and straight-forward people who do not know to cheat others, but Dr Rongpi has cheated the public and such people should be removed from public life. BJP is a communal party and that is why many veteran leaders left the party and formed their own party in Bihar and in Uttar Pradesh,” Bora said.

“BJP under RSS’ influence is also trying to scrap even ST, SC and OBC reservation in jobs and service quota.  The BJP promised in their election manifesto to give jobs to several lakhs of educated unemployed youths but till now not a single person has been appointed,” added Bora.

Former minister Rokibul Hussain said that KAAC CEM Tuliram Ronghang had constructed IBs and other buildings from the money given by the Congress. He dared him to construct such building with money from the BJP.  “The business community is now having sleepless nights because of the bad policies adopted by the Sonowal government.  Small-time businessmen have been hit hard because of imposition of excessive tax”, Hussain said.

Congress leader Durga Das Boro in his speech said that MLA Dr Mansing Rongpi had betrayed the people of 20th Boithalangso and asked the people to give a befitting reply in the coming by-election.

Former HAD minister Khorsing Engti in his speech said that recently distributed pigs, chicks, and agricultural equipment to the farmers and SHGs by EMs are all Congress schemes and not BJP’s scheme. Former MLA Bidyasing Engleng  also slammed the BJP government.

Presided over by MP and KADCC president Birensing Engti, the meeting was also attended by former MLA Klengdoon Engti, APCC general secretary Bibhuti Bhushan Borthakur, KADCC general secretary Rensing Bey and former minister Rupamsing Ronghang.